We've tried to ensure the information displayed here is as accurate as possible. Should there be any inaccuracies, we would be grateful if you could let us know at info@ipohworld.org . All images and content are copyright.

(Please click on the thumbnail for a bigger image.)

Perak Chinese Chamber Of Commerce & Hongkong & Shanghai Bank, Ipoh

Thumbnail :

Subject :Perak Chinese Chamber of Commerce & Hongkong & Shanghai Bank, Ipoh
Published By : S. W. Singapore 
Location : Hale Street, Ipoh
Estimated Year : 1955
Media Type : Postcard
Source : Ian Anderson, Ipoh / Kinta Properties Group
Remark :

The Unused divided back Photochrome postcard, printed in Singapore, shows the Padang, HSBC Bank and the original premises of the 2 storey, Perak Chinese Chamber of Commerce (now 7 Storey, PCCCI).

PCCI was founded in order to promote the relationship and cooperation of the Chinese business community within the state, so as to safeguard, uphold and fight for their economic rights. The well known and successful mining Towkays, Foo Choo Choon (First President) and Yau Tuck Seng with a group of businessmen first formed the Perak Chinese Chamber of Commerce in Ipoh (despite the fact that it was not the State capital) in 1907. Towkay Leong Sin Nam, a Ka Yin Hakka, became second President and was followed by Towkay Cheong Chee.

During the Japanese Occupation, the Chamber suffered and became effectively dormant, but after the war ended in 1945, it was quickly brought back to life under its new President and Vice President, two well known community leaders, Lau Pak Khuan (later Dato Seri) and Cheong Chee respectively.

After a proposal by their President, Lau Pak Khuan, the Executive Committee agreed that their existing double storey building in Hale Street should be rebuilt to demonstrate the importance of the Chamber as the highest authority in Perak's commercial circle. He proposed the building be stately and magnificent, but also, be big enough to have many spaces for renting to generate income. As such, the proposed building was planned to be a 9-storey premises, but after negotiations with the government this was reduced in size.

The Committee, under their Chairman Lau Pak Khuan were Peh Seng Koon, Chong Kok Lim, Cheng Ming Wei, Chan Toon Fah, Yap Yin Fah, Yeoh Kim Tian, Loh Mee Loo, Too Joon Ting and Woo Ka Lim.

On the 7th of June, 1968, the old building was demolished and on the 6th of June, 1970, His Royal Highness, Sultan Idris Shah II, Sultan of Perak officiated at the Inauguration Ceremony. President Lau Pak Khuan was invited to perform the Ribbon-Cutting Ceremony.

The PCCCI website is www.pccci.org.my where more information is available.

To read more about Perak Chinese Chamber of Commerce New Building, click here.

To read more about the Hongkong and Shanghai Bank, click here.

To read more about Towkay Foo Choo Choon, click here.

To read more about Towkay Leong Sin Nam JP OBE, a Ka Yin Hakka, click here.

To read more about Towkay Chong Kok Lim, click here.

To read more about Towkay Lau Pak Kuan, click here.

To read more about Dato Peh Seng Koon , click here.

Filename : 20070802-034